/ The International Exhibition of Young Visual Artists Awards Network (

October 4th 2011 – February 26th 2012
Esterházy Palace, 3rd floor

Curators: Lucia Gavulová, Tijana Stepanovic

Participating artists: Aneta Mona Chisa & Lucia Tkáčová, Hristina Ivanovska, Šejla Kamerić, Eva Koťátková, Jaroslav Kyša, Luiza Margan & Miha Presker, Mladen Miljanovič, Alban Muja, Verdan Perkov, Sašo Sedlaček, Ivana Smiljanic, Kamen Stoyanov, Samuil Stoyanov, Kateřina Šedá, Tomáš Vaněk, Katarina Zdjelar, Enkelejd Zonja

The exhibition presents the selection of works of the finalists or winners of awards associated in the network Young Visual Artists Awards ( The was established in 2000 by Wendy Luers, the president of The Foundation for Civil Society (US), who also initiated the establishment of the Jindřich Chalupecký Award in Prague (1990) and the Oskár Čepan Award in Bratislava (1996). In addition to the aforementioned awards, the includes the Radoslav Putar Award (HR), the Denes Award (MKD), the Dimitrije Basicevic Mangelos Award (SRB), the Artist of Tomorrow Award (KS), the Zvono Award (BIH), the OHO Award (SLO), the Ardhje Award (ALB) and the Baza Award (BG). The main theme of the exhibition is the phenomenon of applause, on the one hand related to the moment of appreciation, admiration, reflection, celebration, respect or victory, and on the other hand associating broader connotations, such as mechanisms of synchronisation, participation, interpersonal relations, networking and social phenomena. The so-called iron applause refers to a special kind of applause when the audience is so impressed that they continue to clap even after the iron fire-proof curtain is lowered. Iron curtains had been long used as fire prevention devices in European theatres. The exhibition presents the selection of works of over 400 finalists and winners of awards granted within the network.